Twenty-five schools from across Eden took part in the Hunter Hall school Cross Country Championship last Wednesday (20th march), with a total of 496 runners completing the course – a new record for the event.

Many of the local schools choose to bring A, B & C teams to ensure whole classes could take part. The four races comprised both individual and team elements – teams collected a score by totalling the finishing positions of their first three runners home; low scores being the aim.

Pupils from Hunter Hall did the school proud n the Hunter Hall school Cross Country Championship with three individual winners and taking second place in the team races.  Kirkby Stephen were crowned Visiting School Champions and for the first time ever they placed 6 pts lower than Hunter Hall.  The standard at the event is clearly rising with so many more schools now able to compete and the medals being shared equally around a range of schools.

Other schools competing in the Hunter Hall school Cross Country Championship included Appleby, Beaconside, Brough, Calthwaite, Clifton, High Hesket, Hunter Hall, Kirkoswald, Langwathby, Lazonby, Long Marton, Lowther, Morland, North Lakes, Orton, Penruddock, Plumpton, St. Catherines, Stainton, Tebay, Warcop  and Yanwath.

Mr Andrew Hetherington, Head of Games at Hunter hall School who organised the event commented,

“It was a fantastic afternoon, one that provided all the children who took part with a significant challenge and a chance for many to reveal their talents in a competitive environment.  I would like to pass on my thanks to the whole school community- marshals, bakers, supporters and helpers. The day proved to be a great success both on and off the course!”


Individual – Top 3 Results 2019

Year 3 & 4 Girls

1st – Minnie Rowley, Hunter Hall

2nd – Alissa Boyd, Lazonby

3rd – Tabiitha Paul, Warcop

Year 3 & 4 Boys

1st – Matthew Hetherington, Hunter Hall

2nd – Thomas Bowness, Morland

3rd – Charlie Ivinson, Kirkby Stephen

Year 5 & 6 Girls

1st – Lucy Hetherington, Hunter Hall

2nd – Rose Gilldailey, Yanwath

3rd – Martha Bainbridge, Kirkby Stephen

Year 5 & 6  Boys

1st – Charlie Dinsdale, Warcop

2nd – Toby Robinson, Penruddock

3rd – Tom Haughan, Lazonby


Team Results 2019

 Year 3 & 4 Girls’ Team Event

1st – Kirkby Stephen, 25 points

2nd – Hunter Hall A, 36 points

3rd – Penruddock, 40 points

Year 3 & 4 Boys’ Team Event

1st – Hunter Hall A, 12 points

2nd – Morland A, 16 points

3rd – Kirkby Stephen A, 19 points

Year 5 & 6 Girls’ Team Event

1st – Yanwath, 12 points

2nd – Hunter Hall A, 20 points

3rd – Kirkby Stephen A, 46 points

Year 5 & 6 Boys’ Team Event

1st – Clifton A, 30 points

2nd – Morland A, 31 points

3rd – Penruddock, 33 points


Overall Finishing Positions 2019

1st – Kirkby Stephen, 147 points – Visiting School Champions

2nd  – Hunter Hall A, 155 points

3rd – Warcop,      358 points

4th – Penruddock, 379 points

5th – Lazonby, 421 points

6th – Morland, 435 points

7th – Appleby, 476 points

8th – Beaconside, 493 points

9th – North Lakes A, 504 points

10th – Yanwath, 545 points

11th – High Hesket, 589 points

12th – Clifton, 663 points

13th – Hunter Hall B, 677 points

14th – Stainton    , 715 points

15th – Langwathby, 734 points

16th – Orton, 841 points